In Her Shoes

Tackling my bucket list, one half marathon at a time.

Movin’ On Up

3 Comments

Today’s Motivation

Today, I made the executive decision to change my marathon training from Hal Higdon’s Novice 1 Program to the Novice 2 Program. The Difference? It’s a slight step up in difficulty from Novice 1 with a tad higher mileage.

Why did I change my program? Who knows. I figure if I’m crazy enough to do a marathon, I’m crazy enough to push myself a little harder.

Hal Higdon is apparently the god of running and running programs. The have an AWESOME iPhone app to help with your runs. My one complaint? I have a Droid! I’m bugging them on Twitter and their blog to create an Android version.

Questions for runners:

  • What do you do for your cross training workout?
  • During the marathon (exclude training from this q), do you walk the hills to save energy?
  • What do you eat throughout the day that you find gives you energy for your long runs?
  • How can you get your body used to running in the morning??

Lastly, I’m on dailymile. I have 2 friends, so feel free to add me.

Cheers!

3 thoughts on “Movin’ On Up

  1. I did Novice 2 for my first marathon and it worked great. I was actually surprised at how good the marathon went for me.
    To answer your questions, I do pilates once a week and then I do another strength workout at home once a week (push ups, planks, lunges, all that good stuff). I also hop on an elliptical once a week.
    I didn’t walk during the marathon, but I don’t think there’s any harm in doing so.
    I a lot of whole foods throughout the day: oats (for breakfast), fruit, lots of veggies, pistachios, almonds, eggs. Before a long run, I’ll eat a banana and a piece of toast with peanut or almond butter with honey and a few raisins.
    I’m a morning person, so running in the morning comes pretty easy to me (for the most part..)! I think it’s a gradual process, so it might take a few weeks – a month for your body to get used to getting up that early. Good luck πŸ™‚

    • Kelly–you didn’t walk at all during your first marathon?? Impressive! I would love to be able to do that, I’m just not sure it’s going to happen. With your pilates and strength workout (on top of running) are you doing 6 days a week? My days off are Monday’s and Friday’s so I’m going to a pilates class on Mondays. I love reading your dailymile posts…it’s great encouragement!

      • I slowed down during water stops but for the most part I kept running.. it was relatively flat though!
        I am doing 6 days a week. My plan calls for 5 days of running, one day of cross, and one rest. I do my pilates class on a day that I run though because that’s just how my schedule works.
        Glad to see you’re liking Daily Mile! I’ve found a pretty consistent crew in IC and we’ve met up at a few 5ks.. it’s great motivation!

Leave a Reply

