In Her Shoes

Tackling my bucket list, one half marathon at a time.

Let’s Play Ketchup

3 Comments

I’ve been incredibly MIA lately, but I have an excuse! I was on vacation in Arizona and only had internet on my phone.

In addition to neglecting my blog, I’ve been neglecting my marathon training. I DID run 12 miles last Monday (3/12) but since then, I’ve been dragging. My sister isn’t too happy with me at the moment.

Camelback Mountain in Phoenix, AZ

While in Arizona, I hiked Camelback Mountain. To the left is a picture from afar. I haven’t uploaded pics from my trip yet, but once I do I’ll post one of me at the top! Camelback’s elevation is 2,706 ft– not too difficult but not the easiest either.

I also forced myself to get out and run 4 miles one day while in AZ. Let’s just say I’m not used to running in warm weather yet. Regardless, the scenery is beautiful down there and it was a nice change from the good ‘ol Madison, Wisconsin running scene.

I did 4.5 miles yesterday after work and thought I would be refreshed. Nope. My legs felt like they were 100 lbs each. I’m hoping it was because I had to wake up at 3am to catch my flight home the previous day. We’ll see how today goes, but let’s just say my spirits are plummeting.

My March Madness Bracket

On a higher note, how ’bout them Badjas! I’m doing horribly in my March Madness Bracket for work, but who cares as long as the Badgers are winning! I chose to be incredibly risky this year, because there are always upsets, right? Well I chose the wrong ones. I had UConn beating Kentucky, Vandy beating Syracuse, and Missouri winning it all. OOPS. But as long as Bo and the boys are going strong, I won’t complain.

Lastly, Sam Dekker (currently a senior basketball player at Sheboygan Lutheran, future Badger bballer) hit a 3-pointer with 3.8 seconds in the game to lift his team to a state basketball title. It was nominated as one of the “Best of the Best” plays on SportsCenter. If you haven’t seen the chronicle of Dekker’s career, it’s worth a read.

Excerpt from the article:

Meanwhile, in Albuquerque, N.M., Bo Ryan and his team watches a live stream of the game prior to Wisconsin’s NCAA tournament second-round game. Badgers players jump up and holler when Dekker drains his final jumper.

Moments later, Dekker talks to Ryan on the phone. “Nice shot,” his future coach tells him. “And a heck of an ending.”

Dekker scored 2,629 points in his high school career. I can’t wait for this kid to get to Madison!

3 thoughts on “Let’s Play Ketchup

  1. You managed to distract me for about 20 minutes reading about this kid…awesome story and it sounds like we will see him in the NBA in a couple years…maybe he can join a former Minnesota team…the Lakers!

Leave a Reply

