In Her Shoes

Tackling my bucket list, one half marathon at a time.

Running is the Devil’s Sport

8 Comments

I ran my farthest distance, EVER last Saturday: 15 miles.

15 miles!!

Only crazy people run 15 miles.

And let me tell you…there’s nothing fun about it. And to think: I have a 16-miler this Saturday. Someone, please remind me why I’m running a marathon? Or someone, please tell me to man up.

The first few miles went fine…not great, but fine. Miles 3-7.5 were a breeze. When I hit my half-way mark, I stopped at St. Mary’s to fill my water bottle and eat my gel.

I’ve only used gel during my half marathons so I’m trying to work it into my long runs on Saturday’s but I can’t seem to get used to the taste. It’s disgusting and I feel like I’m going to vomit after each swallow. I always have high expectations of the gel, thinking it’s going to give me a huge burst of energy, but that’s not the case. If anything, I feel worse. I’m not sure if it’s the mileage or the gel that’s making me drained, but I’m going to blame it on the gel. I’m going to stop into Berkeley Running Company this week and pick out a few more options.

After my St. Mary’s stop, I turned around and took the same route home. A lot of people hate out-and-back routes, but I prefer them. It helps knowing exactly how much distance I have left and I like to look back and see how far I’ve run.

I hit mile 10 and felt drained. I think I overdid the run-walk method. My mind took over and I kept thinking about how tired I was. I actually started arguing with myself. Here’s how the conversation went:

Bad Megan: You’re tired. You’re not going to make it home. Just walk a little bit…it will feel so much better. Your legs are soo tired.

Good Megan: If running a marathon was easy, everyone would do it. It’s an amazing accomplishment, think of how good you’ll feel when it’s over.

Bad Megan: I’m not going to feel good when it’s over… I won’t be able to walk! The free pass to Sea World we get with our race registration is crap since my legs won’t be functioning.

Good Megan: You’re almost finished…let’s try and get under 2 and a half hours.

Bad Megan: Eff this. I hate running. Why do I do this? The minute I finish this marathon I’m never running again. Ever. And I swear on that.

As you can see, Bad Megan is evil. She has so much power over Good Megan. All her arguments make so much more sense than Good Megan.

Anyway, I finished my 15 miles in 2 hours, 24 minutes and 10 seconds. I got home, soaked in the shower, laid down for a few hours and read The Hunger Games, of course. I had a recovery drink and as much water possible, but my stomach didn’t want anything. I had to force dinner down my throat three hours after my run. I finally got over my upset stomach YESTERDAY…2 full days after my run. What is wrong with me? What should I do differently?

If you’re wondering why I have this large picture of reasons to run, it’s because I’m in dire need of inspiration at the moment. 

8 thoughts on “Running is the Devil’s Sport

  1. Chalk it up as a bad, but necessary run. Would you rather your mind be weak at the marathon or as strong as your body on race day? Running a marathon (or a half marathon in my case) teaches you more about your mental toughness than anything else. If I remember correctly you were beyond excited after your 10 mile run, right? Imagine those same emotions and multiply them when you culminate all this hard work in San Diego? Added bonuses, health, killer beach bod for San Diego and all of the above things in that picture!

    As for Gels, my girlfriend hates them too. They have these gummy ones from GU that tastes good and the jelly beans.

    Keep it up, I’m using you as inspiration if I get into The ING NYC.

    • I definitely agree with you on the mental toughness part…I think it’s the biggest challenge. I need to quit playing mind games during my runs. That and I need new running music.

      YOU’RE using ME as inspiration? You’re always the one boosting me with pep talks…I think it’s the other way around. I always appreciate your feedback.

  2. I was referred to this by Tayler, but good luck! As Dominick Says, it is mostly mental. Stay positive and the run becomes easier. Don’t think of it as 26.2 miles, but different blocks. The first 8 miles are the warm up, the next 5 miles you let your mind wander and get in the zone. Suddenly you’re at the half way point. Keep that focus and don’t think of what is left. When things get hard, just remember whatever you have left, you’ve run before and think back to those training runs and know that you’ll be a marathoner.

    I’ve done a few marathons (and Madison coming up), so I know how it feels. Overall, enjoy the experience, it is a blast! And as far as the GU stuff goes, I prefer Hammer Nutrition, which has more natural flavor and feels much better on my stomach when I eat it, you can get 15% off from me here:
    http://www.hammernutrition.com/affiliates/156889/

    Best of luck!

  3. I was referred to this by Tayler, but good luck! As Dominick Says, it is mostly mental. Stay positive and the run becomes easier. Don’t think of it as 26.2 miles, but different blocks. The first 8 miles are the warm up, the next 5 miles you let your mind wander and get in the zone. Suddenly you’re at the half way point. Keep that focus and don’t think of what is left. When things get hard, just remember whatever you have left, you’ve run before and think back to those training runs and know that you’ll be a marathoner.

    I’ve done a few marathons (and Madison coming up), so I know how it feels. Overall, enjoy the experience, it is a blast! And as far as the GU stuff goes, I prefer Hammer Nutrition, which has more natural flavor and feels much better on my stomach when I eat it, you can get 15% off from me here:
    http://www.hammernutrition.com/affiliates/156889/

    Best of luck!

  4. Thanks for the encouragement Scott. And thanks to my lovely sister who blasted my blog out to the world 🙂

    You’re right…I need to focus on how far I’ve gone rather than how much I have left. I think that’s what really brings me down because I’m taking a negative view of it. Good luck on the Madison Marathon in May…I’ve done the Half the past few years and I’m bummed to miss it this year because my marathon is the following weekend.

    I’ll try the Hammer Nutrition..huge thanks for the coupon!

  5. 15 miles is far! It’s the distance I fret the most.
    Have you tried anything other than Gu? There’s HammerGel, HoneyStingers, AccelGel.. All kinds of stuff out there. I use chocolate HammerGel. ShotBloks are good too!
    Next time tell evil megan to stfu! My inner evils talk to me too during those long runs. Think of how good it’ll feel to finish the run!

    • Thanks Steena! I have to tell you, I read your recap on the ’11 Chicago Marathon last week and I’ve been meaning to tell you how much it inspired me! The entire time I was reading it, I felt like I could completely relate with all the half marathon’s I’ve done…and those are only halves! I loved every bit of your post ….I just couldn’t believe you remembered so much from the race! I always feel like I black out!!!

  6. Pingback: Just Call Me Katniss Everdeen | Run, Megan, Run

Leave a Reply

