In Her Shoes

Tackling my bucket list, one half marathon at a time.

Anxiety Level is Soaring

9 Comments

I’m officially starting to FREAK.OUT. Every time I think about next weekend I get butterflies in my stomach. And then my heart starts racing. And then my palms get sweaty. And then I start hating myself for signing up for this stupid thing.

I set my alarm to go running this morning before work. Welp, that didn’t happen. My excuse is I’m too tired after the long weekend. But after I pressed snooze, I started dreaming about the marathon. It haunted me. I woke up every 10 minutes until my “get up for work” alarm went off.

To make matters worse, I went water skiing this weekend and I can’t move my arms. Hmm…maybe I can’t run this weekend?

I think back to last week when I was really excited by just watching the route preview. That excited person is gone. Oh god, there go the butterflies again.

On a lighter note, the forecast for Sunday in San Diego is 65 degrees…perfect.

In all seriousness: What do I eat this week?? Carbs? Lettuce? Fruit?

Butterflies.

9 thoughts on “Anxiety Level is Soaring

  1. Geez…I don’t like this tapering business! I have to do post this video because it popped in my head even though I know all these emotions are natural for your marathon…

    This post reminds me of the post when you ran 16 (?) for the first time…you are going to do well, you have turned your body into a lean mean running machine.

  2. carbs! carbs! and lots of water. taper makes me go crazy so try and stay busy this week with anything and everything you possibly can! i have used this article for my last 2 races and its worked great both times. good luck this weekend! cant wait to read all about it 🙂

    http://www.runnersworld.com/article/0,7120,s6-242-301–14076-F,00.html

    • This is so perfect! I don’t know if I’ll ever have a time in my life where I can eat this many carbs and not feel guilty about it (besides when I get pregnant). Thanks for the tips..and yes, taper is making me go CRAZY!

  3. omg I can’t believe you went water skiing the weekend before!! Crazy!!
    Don’t stress out, freak out, etc.. That’s just going to waste energy. You’ve trained, you’re ready, you’re going to kick ass!!
    What to eat? Carbs!! I had sweet potato for breakfast the 2 days before my last one.

    • I know..I need to keep remembering that. I really want to go out and have a good time. Pace really doesn’t matter to me. And yes, can’t believe I went skiing..horrible idea. My arms were sooo sore.

  4. Pingback: Flashbacks for Motivation | In Her Shoes

Leave a Reply

