In Her Shoes

Tackling my bucket list, one half marathon at a time.

Dipping My Toes in Paleo

11 Comments

Do I have any Paleo followers? The Paleo Diet first sparked my interest about a year ago when I realized I eat way too much cheese and grains. Well, I never actually tried the diet and completely forgot about it.

I just blogged about being in Arizona last week with my sister and the Magargee twins, Danielle and Erin. The three of them tried the Paleo diet for the month of January and made a bunch of Paleo meals while we were on vacation. It wasn’t so bad! Except for the fact that we cheated by eating ice cream. A number of times. Hey…we ran a half marathon…don’t judge.

Anyway, the meals were pretty delicious and they aren’t hard to make. So I’m considering giving this Paleo thing a try. I don’t think I’ll be able to dive in 100%, but I’d make rules: Paleo after noon or Paleo for all dinner meals or Paleo Monday through Friday…hmm.

Thoughts?

If you’re not familiar with the Paleo Diet includes, here is a great infographic:

11 thoughts on “Dipping My Toes in Paleo

  1. Holy sheetballs! This calls for cupcakes!! Paleo-style of course 😉 IT’S ABOUT TIME!!! I’m excited that you’re at least curious about it and breaking away from conventional thinking. Paleo isn’t for everyone but it sure makes a heck of a lot of sense!

  2. You can do anything you put your mind to Megan! PLAN and make it happen. I say try it for a week. I have debated doing this but I know myself and I have no ambition at this moment but I think it is 100% true that our diets suck. I try to make smarter decisions and over the past couple of years my diet has improved, the next step will be to get as close to paleo as I want to be. I like a cupcake every now and then and a burger so I don’t think I will ever go full blown but I would like to be a solid part timer, like on week a month or 3 days a week, something. Interested to see your plan of attack and meals!

    • Dom…if I can do this, YOU can do this. I’m going to start small and work my way into it. AND my roomie saw my blog yesterday and when I got home she told me she wants to try it too! It will be a lot easier with someone by my side.

      • But the thing is…I really don’t want to do it. Now, if I want to get to 6 pack abs, then I will have to do it I guess but can’t I just be happy being svelte? Anyway, YES, I want to see your progress and meals to see if I want to try it out to be HEALTHY.

  3. you can SO do it! even if it is just during the week, you are going to feel so good! i just made paleo pumpkin muffins. yummmmmmmmm. keep us posted on how its going. the biggest thing is being prepared when you are not at home. so i buy a crap ton of larabars or make my own for when im at the gym and don’t have any meal ready. i definetly fall off the wagon on weekends, but i have been getting better. once you are not eating that junk for a while, right after you do indulge, you feel like crapola so that is something to think about before you down a whole slice of mac and chez pizza from ians! yay for spaghetti squash!

    • So I think what I’m going to do is Paleo Monday-Friday. My roommate and I are starting it next Monday so I’ll keep you updated with how I’m doing. Keep sharing those tips! I’m totally going to become reliant on larabars during the day…

  4. Pingback: Paleo: Day One | Run, Megan, Run

Leave a Reply

