In Her Shoes

Tackling my bucket list, one half marathon at a time.

Addictions and Reevaluations

3 Comments

If you know me personally, you know I have an incredibly addictive personality. It’s actually a big problem. I find a new song I love… I listen to it on repeat for weeks. I start thinking about ice cream… I don’t stop until I get some. I start a great new book… I read that book every free second until it’s finished.

For some reason, this addictive personality thing has been in full force in every aspect of my life lately. The following things have been ruling my life lately…

Music: James Vincent McMorrow is on repeat. Especially his song “We Don’t Eat,” which I shared last week.

Oh and I’ve played this song an unhealthy amount as well:

Book: Gone Girl. It’s quite addictive but I’m only 1/4 way through so I’m still confused.

Website: Thought Catalog. Now this is where it gets out of hand. I visit this site MULTIPLE times a day since I discovered it last week. On Sunday, (don’t judge me for what you’re about to read) I surfed through the latest 100 pages on the site. OMG, what’s wrong with me? Anyway, this site is basically amazing. Amazing in a good and bad way. It’s pretty much making me reevaluate my life. I’m not going to divulge in my current life problems, but lately I have been all over the place. I don’t mean traveling, I mean my thoughts. My life is in shambles right now and I’m just trying to piece it together. And to do that, I’ve realized I need to start with the following:

  1. Stop putting other people’s feelings before mine so often.
  2. Actually say what I’m thinking instead of holding back in fear of judgement.

Woah… deep. Anyway, if you’re unfamiliar with this site but you’re intrigued, I recommend starting with the following articles:

Lastly, I leave you with this amazing video. It’s 12 minutes, so watch it when you have time. But seriously…watch it.

3 thoughts on “Addictions and Reevaluations

  1. That man is a saint in so many ways. As for your life…I am sure it may feel like it is in shambles but you are only a change of perspective away from being rebuilt (sounds like you know that). As for your two insights, I struggle with number one real bad, but the sad part is that you need to change enough to be healthy but not enough to lose what makes you who you are…I don’t know if that makes sense or if I am understanding what you are saying correctly, but if I am then it may. As for speaking your mind, this is especially big in relationships/friendships and usually valued in the business world…but never forget tact! You are awesome and thanks for sharing! (and screw me if I said something I shouldn’t have!)

    • No, you’re right on the money. I was vague in the blog post because I don’t want to rant about bad moods and life issues that will eventually get better, but I’m glad you understood what I was trying to get out. Thanks for the insight and encouragement. I start running again next week so my endorphin’s will skyrocket!

Leave a Reply

