In Her Shoes

Tackling my bucket list, one half marathon at a time.

Because I Can

11 Comments

I signed up for another marathon. Wait…WHAT?

After running the San Diego Marathon last June, I vowed to never run another marathon again. Well, apparently I lied. I am officially registered for the Madison Marathon on November 10th.

I'm running another marathon

So why did I sign up? Because I can. Because I’m fortunate enough to have the ability to run.

And because of this. (No seriously. That link is worth reading.)

And this:

Good people

And for statements like this (taken from a friend’s Facebook page):

Burning out someone’s candle doesn’t make yours shine any brighter. I’m sick that the Boston Marathon, a day meant to be a celebration of confidence, motivation, self-awareness, support, and strength could turn to this. I’m running Chicago, and expect to finish in somewhere over 4 hours…right around the time explosions hit Boston’s finish line. October 13th I’m no longer running for a personal challenge. I’ll be running with vengeance for this foolish hatred, for the victims, and with hope….for change.

The day after the Boston Marathon a local news station’s Facebook page asked if the bombings would deter people from signing up for future races. Me? Hell no. It did the complete opposite.

So there you have it. I’m running another marathon.

11 thoughts on “Because I Can

  1. I saw quite a few people sign up for that marathon following the tragedy. I’m happy you’re doing it! Sad week for runners. #runforboston

  2. Congrats on committing to another marathon. I am still on the hunt for #1 but I may make my next goal Boston if I feel like I am up for two more and the serious training involved, I would have to get down below 3:10…and considering my goal at NY will be 3:30, that will be a pretty serious drop! For now, I found my shoes that I will be wearing in NYC in honor of Boston.

  3. Woohoo! Congrats Megan – proud and slightly jealous. Looking forward to hearing about your training and maybe getting in some runs with you eventually!

  4. Nice to know you signed up for a race again. 🙂 My husband and I just signed up too! Nothing can stop us from our love for running!
    Keep running. Stay safe everyone!

  5. Pingback: Flashbacks for Motivation | In Her Shoes

Leave a Reply

