In Her Shoes

Tackling my bucket list, one half marathon at a time.

Meet Mila Anne

6 Comments

Yep, I’m still alive and livin’, just haven’t had time to blog lately.

And why is that? Because I’M AN AUNT!

Mila Anne Cabalka was born at 8:27pm on Thursday, June 13th. I am in love with my little niece! And we have the same initials! BFF's already.

Mila Anne Cabalka was born at 8:27pm on Thursday, June 13th. I am in love with my little niece! And we have the same initials! BFF’s already.

BFFs from the start

BFFs from the start

My brother got to celebrate his first Father's Day on Sunday. Mila wore the perfect outfit for the occasion.

My brother got to celebrate his first Father’s Day on Sunday. Mila wore the perfect outfit for the occasion.

I wouldn't be exaggerating one bit if I said this is the cutest family on the planet. Lauren (my sister-in-law), Mila and Jeremy (brother)

I wouldn’t be exaggerating one bit if I said this is the cutest family on the planet. Lauren (my sister-in-law), Mila and Jeremy (brother)

I am always so busy during the week so I haven’t seen Mila much. I’m already going through withdrawal. So I plan on spending plenty of quality time with her this weekend. AND she gets to meet her Uncle Bennet tonight! This girl is the most loved human already.

Alright, I’ll stop drooling over my niece now.

Of course, I’ve thrown running into the mix as well. Last weekend I ran the Rock ‘n’ Sole and did the entire thing with my friend Mel. I skipped out on my long runs the 2 previous weekends, so I went into this half a tad nervous. But I seriously felt great. Miles 1-10 were a cinch. The last 3 weren’t pretty, but that’s when Mel came to rescue and pushed me along. I sure do love that girl.

My running bud for life

My running bud for life

Happy weekend, friends. Enjoy the beat:Β 

6 thoughts on “Meet Mila Anne

  1. Congrats & welcome Mila Anne! Very sweet!
    Congrats on Rock ‘n Sole too! Miles 1-10 were a cinch? You rock. I died a little.

    • Thank you! If you can’t tell, I’m obsessed with her. I felt so good 1-10 because we were running at a great pace. Normally I’m such a wimp about hills but we were smart about it. I absolutely died 10-13 and kept wanting to walk but Mel just wouldn’t let me. We kept getting bottlenecked during the lake stretch…did that happen to you too? So annoying.

  2. What a cutie with her bow on, congrats on becoming an aunt!

    As for the race, I like that you are just doing half marathons without extensive training now, such a runner. If your training is anything like mine, you will have a fun stretch of 13+ mile runs for about 8-10 weeks in late August through October…fun!

    I actually really liked your song this week. Now added to my Spotify playlist!

    • Oh, come on…like you don’t usually like my music!!

      It’s so weird that I can rip out a half without hardcore training..I kind of love it! That’s why I need to keep this up πŸ™‚

  3. So adorable πŸ™‚ I hope these first couple weeks have gone well for them. Also, small world – I am friends with Lindsay Simonson! I’ve been hearing about Lauren’s pregnancy for months from her and seeing things from you on Instagram and here and didn’t put the two together until she was born.

    • Angie–oh man, what a small world! I LOVE Lindsay…she is such a sweetheart. I talked to Lauren about this yesterday and she’d already talked to Lindsay about it. And throughout your pregnancy I’ve told her things about yours. So funny. I hope Finley is doing great! She’s absolutely adorable!!

Leave a Reply

