In Her Shoes

Tackling my bucket list, one half marathon at a time.

Funkalicious Def

8 Comments

This broad is in a funk (please note: when I use the term “broad,” it is not derogatory).

Anyway, I’m down on running. It’s hard. It’s not fun. It’s a pain in my a$$. It takes too much time. It hurts and I don’t wanna do it. Yes, I’m complaining, pouting, being a baby, all of the above. But I just want the hurts to go away. Why did I sign up for another marathon again?

It’s so frustrating because last week was so great. It was the first time in my training schedule (yeah…don’t judge…only took me to week 5) to finally complete every run on that week’s schedule. And I even did an extra 5k on Sunday!

Thankfully, summer is starting to wind down and I’ll be a little less busy during the week. But this week, I only got ONE of THREE mid-week runs in. I went out for a 6-miler on Wednesday and it was awful. I don’t know what my problem was…I’m not sure if I went out too fast, if I was just tired from the workday, who knows. But at mile 4 I had no energy. So I popped a squat and sat on a bench for about 10 minutes to sit and think about how much I hate this sport. And then I Instagrammed this pic:

Pouting mid-run

THURSDAY: I set my alarm to wake up and run 3 measly miles before work. Did I do it? Nope. My need/want for more sleep always wins in the end.

HOWEVER, I did wake up bright and early this morning (Friday) for a run. A coworker of mine (Ryan) is training for the Chicago Marathon and had 17 miles on the schedule this weekend. We both have busy weekends, so we planned to run together before work. Luckily, I only had 9 miles on my schedule. Ryan was out the door at 4:26 a.m. and met me at my apartment at 5:30 when he hit mile 7. We ran the next 9 together and then he booked it home for his last mile. And wabam. We ran all those miles before work. But yuck. We were both hurting. Every 5 minutes one of us would complain about a body part hurting…or how much this sucked…or how crazy we are. It’s just not fun!!!

Oh well. I’m putting running in the back of my mind for the next 3 days.  I’m off to Chicago for some Lake Michigan boating and bachelorette party shenanigans for the lovely Caitlin Capitanini. This weekend is my first reunion since May with my Iowa lovelies! Let me tell you…going 3 months without seeing my BFF’s is brutal.

Sorry for the negativity…I just needed to get that out. I’ll be more optimistic next week. Hopefully.

For now…enjoy this awesome beat.

8 thoughts on “Funkalicious Def

  1. I’ve been there! I’ve sat on a rock before. I’ve sat on a park bench before.. sitting there… WHYYYYYYYYYY… why. Stupid running. One time I even sat on the curb crying at mile 16 of a 20 mile run.
    Don’t apologize for feeling human feelings. Being frustrated is a part of it. I would rather follow someone who admits the frustrations than say that every run was perfect,yippy,skippy!
    Have fun this weekend. Maybe it’ll be the “reset” button that you need. Hopefully next week will be better!

    • Thanks Steena. This made me feel better. I just HATE being in a funk. How am I supposed to run 14 miles when I want to die running just 4? It’s so frustrating and I’m just waiting to knock out of it. I think I need an attitude readjustment.

  2. Are you hungry? Why don’t you have a waaaaaahmburger and some french cries. SNAP OUT OF IT! You know I am only partially joking.

    The truth is, you have already run one. The unqualified psychologist in me is thinking you feel like this should be chartered waters (maybe?). The difference is this…season. heat + humidity + fun times sacrificed = running angst. Summer is awesome when you don’t have to run, when you do, it blows (as much as you let it). The only solution I have realized is that you have to wake up early, plan your social life around runs (to an extent) and stick with it. Yes, be flexible like you are this weekend but also do not completely neglect your goal. Chalk it up as a bad week, enjoy the girl time. Without the bitter, the sweet wouldn’t be as sweet. If you listen to anything I say, go for a short run tomorrow and then GET A NICE HOUR LONG MASSAGE. If that doesn’t reset your body, you’re hopeless.

    • Oh, Dom…you always know what to say. I know, I know. I think that’s my problem…I’ve done this before, why do I need to do it again. But I need to remind myself of the reasons I signed up in the first place. I just REALLY hope this weekend’s long run isn’t as miserable as the last few. It’s just so stinking HOT here.

  3. It’s so hard to get out of a running funk…until you have a good run and your faith in it will be restored 🙂 I know an awesome run will happen for you soon, and you’ll be thinking all those happy running thoughts and Pinterest quotes as you frolic around town. (How’s that for some positivity?!?!)

  4. Pingback: It’s The Most Wonderful Time of the Year | Run, Megan, Run

Leave a Reply

