In Her Shoes

Tackling my bucket list, one half marathon at a time.

Drowning in Weddings

6 Comments

I get a big ‘ol F in terms of blogging lately. Like usual, I’ve been so busy that I’m drowning and blogging is the last thing on my mind. I had a mental and emotional breakdown to my mom last week because I LITERALLY have no time to myself lately. And it’s getting incredibly draining. Luckily, things are starting to slow down and I’ll have more time for some R&R. (Hopefully).

So what have I been doing? Well, definitely not enough running. I’m starting to freak out about marathon training. I’ve been religious about my long runs on the weekend (except for one kick-back weekend) but I’ve really been lacking on my mid-week runs. I’m only getting 1 or 2 in (don’t yell at me Dom!) But it’s crunch time and I’m making myself get out for every single run. My new leaf turned this week.

But really…what have I been doing? Well, for starters…I’ve had a wedding every week since…I was pretty much born.

Labor Day--Christa and Dave get hitched!

Labor Day–Christa and Dave get hitched!

HS reunion at Christa's wedding

The following weekend, one of my best friends from college (Caitlin) got married. Reunion with my Iowa BFFs!

The following weekend, one of my best friends from college (Caitlin) got married. Reunion with my Iowa BFFs!

Bendo was lucky enough to meet my Iowa lovelies for the first time.

Bendo finally got to meet the people I talk about ALL the time.

Just a few of the best people in the world.

Just a few of the best people in the world.

Rushed home the following morning after Cait's wedding for...IRONMAN! As always, this even tugs on my heart strings and makes me someday want to do it. But that will never, ever happen. I volunteered for the first time this year and will do it every year from now on!

Rushed home the following morning after Cait’s wedding for…IRONMAN! As always, this event tugs on my heart strings and makes me someday want to do it. But that will never, ever happen. I volunteered for the first time this year and will do it every year from now on!

Then this past weekend we had my cousin's wedding in Minneapolis. It was such a fun family reunion. Blaker (to my right) is the one that got hitched.

Then this past weekend we had my cousin’s wedding in Minneapolis. It was such a fun family reunion. Blaker (to my right) is the one that got hitched.

Family in the photo booth

Yeah...these are only the ladies in the family. And we're still missing a handful. People traveled from NY, Arizona, California, Oregon, North Dakota...and more...such a fun reunion.

Yeah…these are only the ladies in the family. And we’re still missing a handful. People traveled from NY, Arizona, California, Oregon, North Dakota…and more…such a fun reunion.

I finally have a weekend to myself this week. I cannot wait to do nothing but my long run and hang with my niece. Speaking of my niece…I got the best video text in the world a few days ago:

6 thoughts on “Drowning in Weddings

  1. I “yell” because I care. That sounds super abusive. Anyway, you know what you need to do and the fear is merited! Also merited is letting yourself RELAX. The process is supposed to be work but not detrimental to your quality of life. It sounds like you probably should have signed up for a marathon where training could have been done in a less busy period…if that really exists in the world. As you know, the long runs are what count but the short runs get you to goals. You got it!

    Your niece is adorable as you already know.

    • Ha I realized this is the busiest time of my life AFTER I committed. BUT, I’m not a quitter. At least life is slowing down during the peak time of my training. I’d rather you yell at me than not. Give me that extra push!

  2. I know how you feel about weddings! While they are amazing, they take over your calendar (and pocketbook!). With how many Brody and Ihave had over the last five years, you’d think we couldn’t have anymore single friends. Nope – one next weekend, one in October, one in December, one in March, and one in May. I always remind myself how sad I will be when the invites stop coming.
    Keep up the running! I may join you guys next Saturday (Sept. 28)!

    • It’s ridiculous, isn’t it!? They just get to be so expensive…especially when you have to travel! And unfortunately, all my friends from college are getting engaged and married right. I guess that’s the time in our lives we’re in! Yes, can’t wait for you to join us!

  3. Eventually, you’ll run out of friends getting married, right? Wow. You know a lot of newly weds!

Leave a Reply

