In Her Shoes

Tackling my bucket list, one half marathon at a time.

Itching For Taper

6 Comments

5.5 weeks left of training. That’s nothing, right? Wrong. All my running friends (but one) are tapering right now. And I’ve never been more jealous of anything in my entire life.

All I have in my way are a few 8 & 5 mid-week runs. Oh…and a 19-miler tomorrow and a 20-miler in a few weeks. I’m trying to be positive about my training and I’ve actually felt really good lately. I haven’t been pushing myself speed-wise because, to be honest, all I want in this marathon is to feel good about it. Oh, and to PR, but I’m pretty sure I can do that. Hopefully I’m not being cocky.

But more than anything, I’m trying to make this experience fun. Last weekend I did the Brewers Half Marathon with a bunch of friends. I ran the entire thing with Mel and Jen and we put ZERO pressure on ourselves. We ran at a really comfortable pace and didn’t worry about breaking 2 hours. I didn’t feel the greatest…I guess I just never got in my groove. But we still had fun with it, of course.

Mel, myself, Jen before and after

Mel, myself and Jen before and after the half.

Jlo and I in Miller Valley

Mel snatched this of Jen and I during Miller Valley. Loved this part of the race.

Running through Miller Park

At mile 12.5ish we ran through Miller Park. This was my favorite thing I’ve done in a half to date. So cool!

Schultz's first half

This was my friend Schultz’s first half marathon! Love when people get into running.

Nater

This was also Naters first half…he ran it in 1:39. Stud.

Krista PRed

My girl Krista PR’ed with a 1:44. Holy mac.

Runing brings friends together

Old friends coming together through running. Love it.

Another medal to the pile!

Add another medal to the pile!

So onward I push. 19 miles after work tomorrow (yuck) but then I have 2 weeks till my 20 miler, which I’m doing in Denver. Yippee!

In other news: this is a must-read. Love, love, love. 

Enjoy the beat.

6 thoughts on “Itching For Taper

  1. Can’t wait to taper. I am so with you on this one. I have one 22 miler between me and insanity. Your friends are frickin fast! One dude drops a 1:39 in his first half and the girl drops a 1:43…what do they feed you guys up there? That half does look fun though. Good luck on your 19 miler, why are you doing it on a Friday?

    • Yeah, my friends are beasts. It’s actually ridiculous. But maybe someday we’ll be like that 😉 I’m doing my 19 tomorrow because I have a wedding on Saturday and just want to get it out of the way so I can enjoy the weekend. Once again, weddings are ruling my life.

  2. Woohoo Denver! Boohoo 20 miler. You better love me forever.

  3. Ha, cute, Ilike the finish photo with the medal over your eye! Cute! Taper is COMING! It’s coming! And you’ll still feel antsy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

