In Her Shoes

Tackling my bucket list, one half marathon at a time.

Flashbacks for Motivation

4 Comments

Thank god I blog. Why? Because I can look back at previous posts to remind myself why I signed up for a marathon.

I’m feeling really overwhelmed this week and I need an attitude adjustment. Fast. Yesterday I hit that point where the marathon just…consumes me. I didn’t think that would set in until Friday. It’s all the stupid race emails I’m getting from the Madison Marathon. The last two I’ve received…I started tearing up at my desk at work. Pathetic, I know.

So I’m writing to build some mental strength.

Background info: I’m running the Madison Marathon on Sunday. This will be my 2nd marathon. My first marathon was June, 2012 in San Diego.

Why did I sign up for the Madison Marathon back in April? “Because I Can.” That’s what I titled my blog post. “Because I’m fortunate enough to have the ability to run.” I signed up after the Boston Bombings because I was pissed. Pissed that two people would do something so foolish, inhumane and so full of hate. And to the running community. So I need to remember that on Sunday. How? “Because I Can” will be written on one wrist.

How did I feel days before my first marathon last June? Did I have the same nerves? All I can remember is being so excited to fly out to California and see my sister and cousins. Welp, once again, thank god I blog. I was actually FREAKING out 5 days before the marathon. HEY, just like yesterday…5 days before the marathon.

How prepared am I compared to last year? I think I’m a stronger runner this year. I’m faster at the long distances and I know my body more. I know when to slow down and when I can push myself a little harder. But was I religious about sticking to the training plan as much as last year? Nope. I skimped out on some mid-week runs due to an incredibly busy fall. HOWEVER, I was religious about my long runs. AND last year, I only did a 16, 18 and 20 mile run. This year I did a 16, 17, 18, 19 and 20 mile run. How I found time for that, I’ll never know {patting myself on that back for that one}.

Enjoy it. That’s what everyone keeps telling me. My response (to myself): How do you expect me to enjoy 26 miles of running? I barely drive that distance in a week. Once again, attitude adjustment. No, I might not enjoy the 26 miles. But I’ll enjoy everything about the experience afterward. After I completed my marathon in San Diego last year, I was the happiest person on the planet because it was over. And I did it. And I was so proud of myself for it. I can’t wait for that feeling again.

Lastly, whenever I’m in need of running motivation, I turn to Pinterest and search “marathon.” This is my favorite:

you're capable of so much more

Sayonara. See you on the flip side. Unless I need to vent through my blog one last time before Sunday, which may again, benefit me in the future.

4 thoughts on “Flashbacks for Motivation

  1. 🙂 Excited for you! It’s going to be a beautiful day in this beautiful city! Kick the nerves to the curb and eat some carbs! Good luck!

  2. You got this! Remember our manifesto last year?? Pain is temporary, pride lasts forever. Keep looking at the ink on your wrist for inspiration and keep this new manifesto in mind: when your legs can’t run anymore, run with your heart! You’re physically ready for this and your heart’s in the right spot so I think you’re gonna be just fine. Proud of you seester. I’ll be cheering for you from CO!

  3. Bang boom pow. RACE WEEEEEEK. You are so prepared, quit stressing and be easy. HOMETOWN ADVANTAGE. Friends, routes, family, weather…all of it…you are going to have an awesome day. Emotion is great, don’t hide it. You worked your ass off to show whatever emotions you want, apathy is the enemy not this. I am so excited for you…this Sunday you will complete #2…that is insanity!

Leave a Reply

