In Her Shoes

Tackling my bucket list, one half marathon at a time.

2013 In a Nutshell

11 Comments

If I were to sum up 2013 with 3 descriptions, it would be the year of Mila (my niece), weddings and running. In honor of the last day in 2013, let’s recap.

Mila Moo

My beautiful niece was born on June 13th, 2013. Moo, as I call her, is the cutest little peanut on the planet. And I’m not being biased. To spare you, I’ll only post two recent photos. Our entire family is obsessed with her. She’s the constant center of attention, which she should be. It has been so fun to watch her grow over the last 6 months. I cannot wait until she’s old enough to run around and chat with.Stocking stuffer Mila Moo's first Christmas

 Weddings Galore

Earlier this year, it seemed as if I had a wedding every weekend. And I know this is only going to continue for a few more years. But I’m so grateful to be able to witness some of my favorite people get married.

Wedding Party

My best friend Gretchen’s wedding party, May 2013

Running

In the past 12 months, I’ve run 6 half marathons and one full marathon:

  • Arizona Rock ‘n’ Roll Half Marathon: January 20th
  • Iowa City Half Marathon: May 5th
  • Madison Half Marathon: May 26th
  • Rock ‘n’ Sole Half Marathon (Milwaukee): June 15th
  • Brewers Half Marathon: September 28th
  • Denver Rock ‘n’ Roll Half Marathon: October 20th
  • Madison Marathon: November 10th

I’d say that’s a pretty good year of running! But still not enough. I didn’t hit 1,000 miles in 2013 like I wanted. But maybe that’s what 2014 is for?

So which race was my favorite? Hands down, no doubt about it…Iowa City. Why? 2 reasons. I finally broke two hours and because I did this race with a few of my best friends…none of which had ever run a half marathon. I was so proud of these girls, not only for running the half, but enduring the training and my annoying encouragement. Now, let’s see if I can get them to do another in 2014?!

start of race

Half marathon finishers

This year was dominated by running and I loved it. Yes, there were times I hated it, but I didn’t get burned out. Even after marathon training for half of 2013, I still love going out for a quick run after work. However, I will admit…it’s nice not to have a strict schedule to follow.

I have yet to sign up for a race in 2014, but I plan on kicking out another handful of halves. I’d really like to cross Minnesota and Illinois off my “Half in Every State” bucket list item. And let’s be honest…I’ll do another marathon, even though I always say, “I’m never doing this crap again.”

So there is 2013 in a nutshell. The years come and go too quickly. Thank you to all my followers for reading over the past year. See you on the flip side.

11 thoughts on “2013 In a Nutshell

  1. After my first couple of marathons I always felt that way too “Never again” .. I think it was after the 4th where I finally realized “Yeah this is something I’ll be doing again and again”.
    You had a great year! It was fun to root you on through training. Too bad I didn’t get to see you on the marathon course considering we had the same finish time, doh!
    Happy New Year!

    • Hah, I know. I realized that “never again” feeling wasn’t going away when I finished the 2nd one…even though I really wish it was true! Thanks for reading and your encouragement in 2013…as you know, running is the worst thing in the world at times and it’s helpful having someone telling me they struggle with the same things at times! See you in 2014 🙂

  2. Lovely picture and have a great 2014.

  3. Congrats on a great year. Your niece is adorable.

  4. Iowa city was my favorite race for you as well, it was cool to see that kind of friendship and read about their training as well. Congrats on a huge year of running and your adorable niece! As for the weddings, too intense for me!

  5. Congratulations on a great year. Hope your running is brilliant in 2014 too.

Leave a comment